Senior Club Notes 9th January 2017

Our annual general meeting took place on Sunday last in the Club House and was very well attended. Chairman Jim McGoldrick thanked the outgoing committee for their endeavours over the last year. After 4 very busy and successful years as secretary John Dowd stepped down, as did Vice Chairman Kevin Prunty. This led to a number of positional switches on the committee as well as new faces being elected.The officers elected for 2017 were as follows:

  • President: Brendan Bracken
  • Vice President:  Eamon Quinn
  • Chairman: Jim McGoldrick
  • Vice Chairman: Sean Whelan
  • Secretary: Brian Donohoe
  • Assistant Secretary and PRO: Thomas Quinn
  • Treasurer: Geraldine Halpin
  • Assistant treasurer: Danny Keogh
  • Irish Officer: Marie McCormack
  • Registrars: Sean Whelan and Ronan McGoldrick
  • County Board Delegates: Frank Toher, Brian Donohoe and John Dowd
  • Reserve County Board Delegate: Turlough Farrelly
  • Children’s Officer: Ann Harte
  • Health & Wellbeing Officer: Claire Kiernan Campbell

We wish the new committee all the best over the coming years.We thank the outgoing officers for their dedication over the past year and years, particularly John Dowd who has put in countless hours in his last 5 years as secretary. John has been to the fore in everything we have done and achieved on and off the field since taking over his position and has been a constant friendly face around our grounds. John has provided valuable advise to all the committees he has served on in that period and has been meticulous in his note taking and secretarial portfolio. Additionally he had a knack of sensing upcoming problems and had the ability to head them off in a lot of cases before they arose. We wish John and his family all the best in the future and hope to see him involved again with future committees.

Well done to Ciaran Keogh, Padraig McCormack and Jacinta Brady who were honoured at the Longford GAA awards ceremony on Saturday night last.  Particularly well done to Ciaran Keogh on scooping junior player of the year. This was an award certainly deserved by Ciaran who again had a fantastic year on the playing fields. Ciaran is an inspiration to have in the club the type of sports star all youngsters should aspire to become. Surely on the back of this great achievement, Ciaran will give us one more year in the white and green.

Our dinner dance takes place this coming Saturday night at the Landmark Hotel in Carrick On Shannon. Dinner will be served at 7.30pm sharp. On the night we will be honouring our intermediate team of 1977 who won the championship and propelled us back to senior status. Tickets at €30 are available from Jim McGoldrick, Begley’s, The Forge, Doyle’s, Brian Donohoe, Robbie Browne, Turlough Farrelly, John Conlon, John Fitzsimons, Frank Kiernan, Berney Brady, John Dowd, Thomas Donoghoe , Mgt McCormack, Brendan Bracken. Music on the night by the fabulous Midnight Radio.

Our Lotto draw for a jackpot of €5,200 took place in Begleys bar on Sunday night and the numbers drawn were 4 16, 26 and 30. There was no jackpot winner. €20 winners were John Clancy, Ballymahon, Sean Mckenna, Knockloughlin, Brian Donohoe, The Bracken family, Esker and Vera Kiernan, Rhyne with this weeks sellers prize going to Bernard Brady. Thanks again to all who support our lotto. As evidenced in our treasurers report last Sunday our Lotto is our main source of income and is pivotal to the survival of our club.  We continue to encourage new members to play on line or join our prepaid subscriptions which offer two free draws per year. Our prepaid option costs €100 per anum which guarantees entry to 52 draws. To join our prepaid lotto please contact Frank Toher on 087 4100221 or any committee member.

Thomas Quinn – PRO