Senior Club Notes – 20th January 2020

Dinner Dance:

Our Dinner Dance took place on Saturday Night last in the Longford Arms Hotel attended by a very large crowd. A great night was had by all. We would like to congratulate everyone who got individual awards on the night. The Junior Player of The Year went to Emmet Igoe and the Senior Player of the Year was won by Cian Farrelly both very worthy winners. The next award on the night was the Hall Of Fame and there were seven members of the 1960 team inducted into the Hall Of Fame. The seven members Monsignor Liam Quinn, John Bracken, Brian OHara, John Hagan, James McGoldrick, Vincent Duignan and John Kiernan. The next award was The Clubman of The Year and this went to our very hard working former Chairman James McGoldrick. A very worthy recipient. The next presentation was the medals to the U-20, Division 3 and Senior championship winners . These medals were presented by 3 members of the 1960 team John Bracken, Eamon Quinn and Brian OHara. A special presentation was made to Anne Toher for her great work with our lotto for the last number of years.

The county board was represented on the night by Vice-Chairman Colm Murray. We were delighted to also have our own John Devaney there as well on the night. John is the new Chairperson of Down County Board.

After all the formalities were finished everyone danced the night away to the very entertaining Whitewater Band.

The club would like to say a big thank you to Orla Reynolds and her staff for a great meal and service. A special word of thanks to all who attended and helped to make it such a memorable occasion. Thanks to Michael Quinn who also brought the OByrne Cup to our celebrations.


Our weekly lotto draw took place in The Olde Forge on Sunday night. There were no jackpot winners. The numbers drawn were 4,12,18 and 33 . The 20 winners were Michael Quinn Bawn, Niamh Kiernan C/o Shane Clarke, Brendan Loughlin Killoe, Eamon Keogh Ohill and Gerry Conlon Newtownbond.

The sellers prize went to Donal McGuire . Next weeks draw takes place in Begleys and the jackpot will be €9,800. Thank you for your continued support for our weekly lotto.


Club Membership is now available from club registrars Ronan McGoldrick and Sean Whelan.


The club extends sincere sympathy to the Bracken and McGoldrick families on their recent bereavements.

O’Byrne Cup Winners

Congratulations to the Longford players and management on their great victory over Offaly in the OByrne Cup Final on Saturday last and in particular to our club players Michael Quinn, Daniel Mimnagh and Liam Hughes.

Brendan Bracken PRO – Emmet Og GAA