Senior Club Notes – 1st December 2014

Our playing year ended in style at Pearse Park on Saturday last when we captured the under 21 A championship title for the 3rd time in 4 years with victory over a fine and spirited Colmcille team. In what was a tight and hard fought game throughout which saw just two points separating the teams mid way through the second half, a couple of late scores saw us eventually bag the silverware on a final score of 1-12 to 1-5. We had fine performances all over the field with all our lads putting in a fine hour. Winning this title with several young players pushing through certainly bodes well for the future.

Killoe U-21 Team - Longford U21 Football Championships 2014

Killoe U-21 Team – Longford U21 Football Championships 2014

This was the 5th title for the men’s senior club in 2014 following from the senior A and senior B championships, the leader cup and the reserve 1 league, not forgetting our junior team who lost out in the A championship final. This is a great achievement for our club and is testament to the excellent management skills and attention to detail of our fantastic management team of Tommy McCormack, Mick McKeown, John Bracken and Gerry Carberry. Following 3 great years in charge we owe these  men a huge debt of gratitude not forgetting Terry McCormack who was part of the team up to this year. Great credit is due also to all players at all levels who represented the club so well this year.

Our success on the pitch was reflected in the announcement of the Longford Championship team of the year in Abbeyshrule on Saturday night last. We had 8 players selected on the team of the championship with several others unlucky to lose out in their positions. Well done to Cian Farrelly, Darragh Bennett, Joe McCormack, Michael Quinn, Denis McGoldrick, Sean McCormack, Daniel Mimnagh and Larry Moran on making the team, not forgetting Shane Dowd, Mark Hughes, Daniel Keogh and Paddy Thompson who were also nominated for the team but missed out on the night. Indeed very well done to Darragh Bennett who was selected as player of the championship as well as Ann Marie Bratten who won the ladies player of the year. Hard luck to Gerry Carberry who made the final 3 in the junior player of the year but was piped for the award on the night.

So now that the action on the pitch has ended all eyes now turn to our inaugural Jigs ‘N’ Reels fundraiser next Saturday night in the Longford Arms Hotel ballroom. Our 12 couples have been practising away for the last number of weeks and have perfected their routines as they strive to become Killoe’s first Jigs ‘N’ Reels dance champions. The couples taking part on the night are

1. Annette Drake/Kiernan and James Edgeworth,
2. Kathleen Maher and Stephen Phillips,
3. Orla Noonan and Cathal Twaddle,
4. Grainne Fox and Mickey Joe Keogh,
5. Bridie Fitzpatrick and Frank Reynolds,
6. Caitriona Reynolds and James Hynes,
7. Anne McCabe and Aiden Gray,
8. Mandy Stewart and Eddie Clabby,
9. Carmel Kennedy and Paul McCarthy ,
10. Niamh Begley and Terry McCormack,
11. Nikki Tully and Daniel Mimnagh and finally
12, Our wildcard entry picked from those present on launch night, our very own Eugene Murphy and Catherine Grey

This promises to be great nights crack with the dancers representing many parishes within the county sure to generate a bit of banter and rivalry. Tickets at a very reasonable €10 are available widely throughout the parish or from any committee member. Tickets will also be available on the night. The winners will be chosen by votes cast on the night by those in attendance. All money raised through this event is going towards club development. Our own Gerry Hagan is MC on the night and the first couple will take the stage at 8.30pm sharp. We hope to see you there.

Our club website has won the Leinster GAA club ‘website of the year’ award for 2014 and we will be presented with our award at a function in Portlaoise this coming Friday evening. This follows hot on the heels of our McNamee award for national GAA ‘website of the year’ in 2012. Great credit is due to all who developed, operate and constantly update our website ensuring that it is always up to date with the latest news, fixtures and results relevant to our club, particularly, Paul Devaney, Colm Devaney, Thomas Quinn, Robbie Browne & Nicole Rowley.


Hard luck to Wolfe Tones hurling club who lost out in the Leinster final on Sunday.

Our club lotto took place on Sunday night in The Olde Forge for a new jackpot of €1500. The numbers drawn were 22,28,29 and 30. There was no jackpot winner. €20 winners were The Caherly family, Micknagh, Yvonne Lennon, Esker, Roisin Lennon, Esker, Delores O Driscoll, C/O Begleys and Thomas Gillen, Corlea. This weeks sellers prize went to Kevin Prunty. Next weeks draw will take place in Begleys bar for €1,600. Our lotto is available to play in any of our local shops and pubs, through any committee member or online through our website at  Wouldn’t an annual subscription to our lotto make a nice Christmas present for all Killoe supporters.

We had double wedding celebrations in the parish last weekend. We send best wishes to Margaret Brown, Kiltyreher and Oisin Kelly and to Elizabeth Brady, Kiltybegs and Darren Madden who all exchanged wedding vows on Saturday last.

Finally we extend our sympathies to the Toher family on their bereavement at the weekend.

Thomas Quinn

PRO Emmet Og.