Senior Club Notes – 12th January 2015

Our annual general meeting took place in the club house on Saturday evening last and was well attended. Our chairman, secretary and treasurer presented very positive reports for last year in each of their fields which show that the club is in a extremely positive position. Our committee for next year were elected with 4 changes in personnel. Seamus Igoe was elected as president with Brendan Bracken taking the role of vice president. Jimmy Halpin and James McGoldrick were returned as chairman and vice chairman while John Dowd and Thomas Quinn retained their positions as secretary and assistant secretary/pro. Danny Keogh remained as treasurer while his assistant, Aidan Quinn who has done 5 years in the role stepped down and was replaced by Brian Donohoe. Oliver Killian stepped down as registrar after several years in the role and was replaced by James McGoldrick while Malachy Flanagan was elected as coaching office. Our county board delegates for the coming year are Brian Donohoe, John Dowd and Frank Toher while Ann Harte remains as children’s officer. Several important matters were discussed before the meeting concluded. Thanks to all who attended and to our outgoing officers Aidan Quinn and Oliver Killian who have put in a great amount of work over the last number of years.

Membership for this coming year is now being collected by James McGoldrick or can be paid on line through our website. Membership rates for this year are €40 for players, €20 for student players and €25 for non playing members. The membership fee includes full insurance cover for players and allows full voting rites at meetings, etc for non playing members. Additionally all paid up members are entered into a draw for All Ireland tickets each September. We are always encouraging new members and urge all supporters to join our great club.

Our dinner dance will take place on Saturday night the 31st January in The Longford Arms Hotel. Tickets at €30 each are now available from Danny Keogh, Thomas Donohoe, Frankie Toher, Berney Brady or any committee member. Music on the night is by the brilliant Pascal, Liz and Dave. This is always a great night and is sure to be a sell out again this year so we are encouraging intending guests to purchase their tickets early. Medals will be presented to all our winning teams from last year at the event.

Our lotto draw took place on Sunday night and the numbers drawn were 11,17,22 and 23. Unfortunately there was no jackpot winner. €20 winneres were Rory Cullen, Esker, Aidan McGoldrick, New York, Joe Leonard, Esker, Sorcha and Patrick Higgins, Ballincurry and Bill Keane, C/O Brendan Bracken. Frank Toher took this weeks sellers prize. Next weeks jackpot is €2,100 with the draw on Sunday night. Thanks again to all who support our lotto.