Senior Club Notes 11th January 2016

Our Dinner dance took place on Saturday evening last in the magnificent Landmark hotel in Carrick On Shannon and was well attended with almost 300 people including special guest Oisin McConville sitting down to a magnificent meal. After such a successful year we had plenty of silverware at the top table with the Sean Connolly cup proudly on display. We had a number of awards on the night which all went to worthy recipients.

Senior and Junior player of the year.

This years senior player of the year award went to Padraig McCormack. This award was richly deserved by Padraig who following his return to football in May after a year off through injury and bereavement was pivotal in the success we went on to enjoy.

Our junior player of the year award went to Gerry Carberry. Again Gerry was instrumental in many of the victories we had at junior level this year, surging forward from the back on several occasions to land important scores whilst always carrying out his defensive duties.

Well done to Padraig and Gerry. I don’t think anyone can argue that these two players didn’t deserve these awards.

Hall of Fame award.

Our hall of fame award this year went to Mick Fenelon. Mick played football with the club in his early years and has been an avid supporter and generous sponsor of the club in more recent times. His family are synonymous with the club and he is always in touch with our fortunes on the playing fields. Welcome to our hall of fame Mick.

Club Man of the year.

This years club man of the year award went to our outgoing chairman Jimmy Halpin. After 3 hughely busy and successful years as chairman Jimmy was a worthy winner of this award. The amount of time and energy Jimmy has invested in the club during his period as chairman has been phenomenal with him to be found day and night around the grounds. Additionally our entire complex and  club house area has been completely modernized and developed in recent years with Jimmy instrumental in bringing about much of the work. Well done Jimmy and enjoy the free time you will have on your hands now.

Oisin McConville hosted a very interesting question and answer session during the meal, taking questions from all and sundry on the floor. Thanks Oisin for your attendance and your willing participation in the event.

Finally a big thank you to the management and staff at the Landmark hotel for their part in what was an event to remember as well as all who attended the event.

Can anyone with outstanding ticket monies please return same to Jim McGoldrick or Jimmy Halpin in the coming days.

Our lotto draw took place in Begleys bar on Sunday night and the numbers drawn were 4, 9, 17 and 30. There was no jackpot winner. €20 winners were Mary Begley, Sean Laffey, Ita Carroll, B Barry, C/O Keoghs, Ohill and Darragh Maguire. This weeks sellers prize went to Berney Brady. Next weeks draw for a jackpot of  €3,200 takes place in the Olde Forge on Sunday night. Thanks again to all who support our lotto either locally or online. Don’t forget discounted annual membership of the Lotto is available through any club member. €100 for 1 year, 52 draws, €50  for 6  months and €25 for 3 months.

Finally we offer our deepest sympathies to the McCormack and Duggan families on the death last week of Eileen Tully, nee Kenny. May she rest in peace.

Thomas Quinn