2013 Dinner Dance

Our annual dinner dance took place last Saturday night at the Longford arms hotel. This was a very well attended event with close on 400 people present. The club would like to extend a big thank you to all who attended and supported this event. The event commenced at 8p.m. and thank you to all in attendance for being seated on time to allow this to happen. An excellent meal was provided by the Longford Arms Hotel followed by music by Pascal, Liz and Dave. The club wish to thank the hotel staff and management for their hospitality as well as the band for making this event such a success. A great nights crack was had by all in attendance with dancing continuing until the small hours of the morning.

Several awards were presented on the night including medals to our Victorious Under 21, Senior Championship and Leader cup winning teams. These medals were presented by County Chairman Brendan Gilmore and County manager Glen Ryan both of whom paid glowing tributes to our club and Parish. Medals were also presented to Our victorious ladies teams by Longford ladies Chairman Delores Kiernan.

As well as these medals several other awards were presented on the night.

A very deserving winner of the hall of fame award was Mr John Reilly. John Reillys name is synonymous with Killoe football since his playing days in the nineteen sixties particularly at all under age levels. Every young lad in the Parish was at some stage transported to or from games in every corner of the county by John in the back of what ever mode of transport he was then driving, on occasion the bulk of the team arriving with John. John continues to be involved with our Junior team as well as the under 21 team. The club owes a great debt of gratitude to John for all his involvement over the years with everyone in agreement that John was a most deserving winner of this award. The club wishes good health and fortune to John in the future and hope that he will continue to be involved with the mentoring and management of teams for years to come.

The club man of the year award was presented to our senior team manager Tommy McCormack. Again this was well deserved following Tommy taking our young senior team to the verge of a Leinster final and finishing the season with the Championship and leader cup trophies in the bag. Indeed but for a bit of luck on that wet miserable Sunday in Portlaoise Tommy and his team could have been competing in the Leinster final.

Our Senior player of the year award went to Padraig McCormack, This was well deserved also as Padraig made the full back slot his own as the Championship progressed. Our Junior player of the year award went to Thomas Quinn and ladies player of the year going to Sharon Tracey.

In addition awards were presented to 3 members of our outgoing executive, Frank Kiernan, Gerry Rowley and Karl Nolan to mark their contribution to the club over the past number of years and thank them for their hard work. Upon stepping down as Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary these 3 men certainly left the club in a very healthy position. No doubt all 3 will continue to be involved in various roles in the future.

Finally a big thank you to our ticket sellers who did a great job in managing the distribution of the tickets in a short peiod of time. Also a big thank you to our M C on the night Mr John Dowd who ensured that the event progressed promptly. Anyone with outstanding ticket money is asked to have same paid to Danny Keogh by this Friday

Photographer Mr John Regan was in attendance on the night and all pictures taken are available to order directly from John Regan.